Sowing Seeds of Hope
Perry County - AL

Perry County was established the same year Alabama became a
state, and early in its development Perry County was called upon
to give some of its territory to help establish surrounding counties.

PERRY COUNTY stabilized with its present 745 square miles of
balanced landscape. From the northern part of the county where
forests cover the trailing end of the Appalachian Mountains, the
hills and valleys give way to the grass covered prairies and
geometric croplands of the fabled Black Belt.

The generous rains of the changing seasons feed the streams
and creeks that run East to the Alabama River and West to the
Tombigbee River. Coursing through the county itself is one of
America's last free running wild rivers, The Cahaba, a river that
boasts more species of fish than any other in the United States.
The first towns in the area that would become Perry County were Muckle's Ridge (now known as Marion), Perry Ridge,
Uniontown (originally known as Woodville), and Heiberger. Civil-rights leader Coretta Scott King was born in Heiberger
and attended
Lincoln Normal School in Marion, which is also home to Marion Military Institute and the all-female Judson
College. Perry County is governed by an elected five-member Board of Commissioners and includes the communities of
Marion and Uniontown, Sprott, and many other small towns.

Perry County School  District #53
All Rights Reserved
A Smart Business Impression